Heart Chakra 101

Heart Chakra 101

Heart Chakra: Anahata

Your heart chakra is the center point if your 7 chakra system and brings balance and harmony to your entire chakra system. This is where you connect with source light and the angelic realm. Love and guidance are accessed through your heart chakra and helps to balance the lower and upper correlating chakras. 

The heart is your center for giving and receiving and your openness in relationships. When you live from your heart center, and your energy is balanced, you can approach any situation with love, no matter how challenging it may be. 

Love is the opposite of fear and comes with profound power to bring unity and peace. The heart chakra gives life to pure unconditional love, enabling you to see the good and potential in all. 

How To Know if the Heart Chakra is Out of Balance

When your heart chakra is energized and balanced, you will not only love yourself but also that love will radiate to others, as well. Despite the difficult things that happen in your life, it is still possible for you to see kindness and compassion in those around you.

At the physical level, when the heart chakra is out of balance, you may suffer from respiratory ailments or circulatory issues. You may excessively judge others, have a hard time with forgiveness or letting go of grudges and have an overall sense of your heart being closed off to others. 

You may also feel that others are closed off to you, seeking attention and love from others, to gain approval. 

Underactive Heart Chakra

Suspicion, being aloof and having a hard time trusting others are all signs of the underactive heart chakra. People with an underactive heart chakra may find themselves in codependent relationships. If you find yourself having challenging relationships, this is a sign that there’s an imbalance with this chakra. 

Other signs include being afraid to love or open your heart, being afraid of commitment or always being on guard to protect your heart. 

Overactive Heart Chakra

But with an overactive chakra, this is just the opposite.

You tend to lose personal boundaries and overextend yourself to the point of making unhealthy, often harmful choices, all because of “love.”  

It is easier for you to put other people’s needs ahead of your own. You no longer give love to yourself. Other signs to look out for are jealousy, judgment, being controlling, or over critical and feelings of possessiveness. 

Chakra Healing for the Heart Chakra

You can most definitely heal your heart chakra. Here are some of the things you can do to bring the balance back into your heart.


Meditate on your heart center while visualizing a golden light enveloping you and energizing your heart space. With each breath in, imagine breathing into yourself this golden and on every exhale allow what is not serving you to be released. 

Bring your focus to what you appreciate and use affirmations to balance the heart chakra. 


The most powerful affirmations to use are that of acceptance and gratitude. Bring to mind appreciation for life, people, and the angelic beings that are there to help and guide you. 

– Thank you

-I love and approve of myself

-I am open to giving and receiving love

-I forgive myself and others

-I return to peace, love, and gratitude

-I flow through life with love, grace, and ease

-I connect with others easily and naturally

-I love you

Use Chakra Stones and Essential Oils for the Heart Chakra

Stones associated with the heart chakra

– Malachite

– Aventurine

– Amazonite

– Rose Quartz

– Jade

– Green tourmaline

– Green aventurine

– Green calcite

Essential oils for the heart chakra

– Rosewood

– Lavender

– Neroli

– Patchouli

– Jasmine

– Ylang Ylang

– Cypress

– Rose

Additional Tips

Take a relaxing and soothing salt bath after a long day at work.

Practice self-love and care, choosing to do the things that truly nourish your mental, emotional, and physical wellbeing. 

Practice being present for others and listening to them. Without input, simply hold space for others. 

Start a gratitude journal.

Practice random acts of kindness. 

Forgive. If this is challenging, try practicing empathy and put yourself in the other person’s shoes.

Express appreciation every chance you get. 

Work towards accepting others, as they are, without trying to change anyone.

Tone the mantra YAM to bring healing and balance to the heart chakra.

Symbol and Symbolism

The heart chakra symbol has 12 petals surrounding an inner circle with two triangles sitting inside. One is upright, while the other is upside down forming a hexagram. 

Triangles pointing upwards symbolize the flow of human consciousness. Triangles pointing downward symbolize spiritual flow towards the manifested world.  

The petals can either represent the divine heart or opposing qualities to overcome. 

Compassion, empathy, love, kindness, healing, understanding, forgiveness, unity, purity, peace, bliss, and harmony are symbols of what the heart chakra governs.  

Location of the Heart Chakra

The heart chakra is your fourth chakra, located in the center of your chest.

When this chakra is balanced, you experience emotional love and acceptance for yourself and others and spiritual connectedness. When this chakra is open, are connected to the love and presence of Source and the infinite. 

The Chakra Color for the Heart Chakra

The color of the heart chakra is green.  

Green symbolizes growth, compassion, abundance, peace, relaxation, and harmony. 

Leave a Reply